Chapter IX: The Reckoning (Pt. IV)

I was not in my chambers long before Mîrwen entered. She had a look of dread upon her face. I knew better than to inquire. She had spent much of her time with the Queen this day. With the departure of Thingol, I knew too well the fear in Melian’s heart. What she said to the court with her eyes, she spoke to her most trusted ladies.

“What is on your mind, Orothôn,” she asked as she walked by without a glance. “I could hear your thoughts in the hall.”

“I have nothing on my mind other than my concern for you.”

“As you well should,” she said. “But I would worry more for the fate of the Eldalië.”

“Why is that,” I began. “Do not speak to me in riddles, Mîrwen. Between you and Galadriel, on can hardly dismiss the look of puzzlement upon my face.”

“There is talk of war,” she said angrily. “Or do menfolk not speak of it anymore?”

“We speak of it,” I answered. “But why would ladies concern themselves with war?”

“We are far from immune by the affects of war,” she said. “We are wives and mothers of warriors.”

“Yes, you are,” I said. “And as such, it would be helpful if you would tell your warrior husband what you are trying to say.”

“Mother wishes to sail west.”

I looked at Mîrwen. From her expression, I could tell she knew I was stunned.

“What are you saying, Mîrwen?”

“Dark times are coming to us,” she began. “There will be death among us. Mother wishes for us to go where we should have gone a long time ago.”

I did not know what to say. Before I could think of something, there came a knock at the door.

“Enter,” I said without a backwards glance.

“Ada,” I heard Oropher say. I turned to see my son standing beside Amdir.

“Yes, Oropher,” I asked.

“You are wanted,” he said. “By Elmo.”

I nodded.

“See to your mother,” I whispered.

“Yes, Ada,” he answered.

“Elmo is with Iarûr in the library,” Amdir added.

I nodded, and made my way down the hall. As I turned down the corridor leading to the library, I met Êlengolas and Finëar.

“Have you two been summoned,” I asked.

“If by summoned you mean intentionally eavesdropping, then yes,” Êlengolas said with a smile. Finëar sighed in annoyance.

“Yes, he was called upon,” he said. “Êlengolas is one of our best warriors, if not our most trying. Angband rumbles again for that creature brought with it more than eyes.”

As we entered the library, several elves busied themselves with putting scrolls into trunks. Iarûr and Elmo stood in the farthest corner speaking quietly as Súlwë sat nearby. When they saw us approaching, we were greeted warmly.

“Orothôn,” Iarûr said. “Good of you to come.”

“I was told Elmo wished to see me,” I answered.

“Yes,” Elmo said. “Have you spoken to Mîrwen?”

“I have only briefly.”

“So, she has told you of Orowen’s desire to sail west.”

“Yes,” I answered. “I am afraid I do not understand.”

“I believe you do, Orothôn,” Elmo said. “It was you, after all, that heard my promise to my wife many years ago on our way to Doriath.”

Everything became clear to me in that moment. My mind returned to the forest beneath the stars. 

“You have called me here to tell me we are to leave Doriath?”

“No,” he said softly. “Not just yet, but it is on the minds of many.”

“I find it difficult to fathom King Thingol leaving this world,” I said. “And if my memory serves, you said you would leave if you failed to convince your brother.”

“You memory serves you well,” he answered.

“The King will not leave Doriath,” Êlengolas said. “So long as his daughter remains, he is tethered forever to this land.”

“His daughter has given her love to a mortal,” Finëar added. “Now Elven blood will one day flow together with Atani for many generations.”

“Yes,” Elmo said softly. “I made a promise to my beloved, but I owe my allegiance to my brother.”

“So you wish to stay,” I asked.

“No,” Elmo answered. “I want to leave with my family before more Elven blood is shed.”

“Well, do it quickly,” Iarûr said. “That time will be upon us soon. More than elven blood will flow through this land.”

“Are you planning to leave as well,” I asked Iarûr.

“No,” he said. “I must stay. My fate is tied to another. But I will make my way home when it is is my time to do so.”

“When are you leaving, Elmo,” I asked.

“As soon as my brother returns, I shall tell him my plans so that I may prepare for our journey. You will be coming with us, yes?”

I did not answer. I had not given it much thought. Even after facing the evil of Morgoth, I had come to call Doriath my home.

© 2015-21. “The Kingdom of the Woodland Realm Trilogy—Book I: The Epic of Eryn Galen” by Jaynaé Marie Miller. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment